Who is excited that Anna B. Doe’s debut novel, Lost & Found, is releasing this month? *Hand in air* ME! To celebrate this upcoming release, I have a Q&A with Anna that I am thrilled to share with you! I also have an early review ready for Lost & Found that is included. <3 Happy Reading <3

Let’s show you what this book is about first:

35104516

Blurb:

I don’t know what I want to do with my life. The only thing I am sure of is that this is not what I imagined my life to be. So, instead of staying and trying to figure out what is wrong, I choose to run away. I choose the unknown. I choose the adventure. 
My name is Anabel Majer, and I’m lost.

I have it all—well, almost all: family, health, money, fame, career, women, you name it. The only thing I am missing is a Super Bowl ring—or so I thought until the night everything changed. One night, a small Tinkerbell collided with my life, and I am gone.
My name is William Price, and I found her.

She is everything he wanted. 
He is everything she needed to stay away from. 
What happens if at the end of the journey you lose more than you find?

 

Author Q&A:

Crystal’s Book World: What is the first book that made your cry?
Anna: Hmm…This one really made me think lol. I’m not 100% sure, but I think Harry Potter. Dumbledore, Snape, Lupin, Sirius, Tonks, Fred etc. You get the picture. But one book that I really remember crying over is Kick Push by Jay McLean. Josh Warden’s story made me cry like a baby in just a few short pages. If you didn’t read it yet, you have to because he is something else.

Crystal’s Book World: Does writing energize you or exhaust you?
Anna: It depends. Mostly, it’s daily thing. There are good days, and then there are bad days. I talk about it a lot in Lost & Found because a lot of me is put into Anabel, the main character in my book.
Crystal’s Book World: What did you edit out of this book?
Anna: What I didn’t edit out of this book is better question lol. I don’t know how it will seem to you readers, but to put year and half of action in one book is quite difficult. Main characters are meeting on and off during that time, and because of that, I like to think of this book as more than just a simple love story. It’s about girl growing up and figuring what she wants to be in her life which isn’t always easy as most of us know. As for editing – the “intro” to the story was waaaay longer than it is now. I deleted like first 5 chapters or so and then returned them back in form of comments, flashbacks etc. Apart from that, I only made changes in style, dialogue/description a bit, but it was more adding than deleting or simply saying something in different words.

Crystal’s Book World: Okay, what we love to know is, what inspired you to write Lost and Found. Has it been a story you had on the back burner for awhile, or did it just come to you and you started to write?
Anna: It was a song. Heart by Heart by Demi Lovato. I heard the song a million times probably, but one time out of that million, this scene appeared in my head and then around that I built the rest of the story. It’s like imagination took the good parts of me and put it in this story. Like I said before, there is a lot of me is in this book. While I was rereading it to make sure it’s ready to be published, I thought, maybe even too much of me, but well…Another thing that influenced this book is my work as an Au pair/nanny abroad.

Crystal’s Book World : Reviews….They can make an author bite their nails off while reading what their readers think of their debut books. Will you read the good, bad, and ugly? How will they make you a better writer personally?
Anna: People, like famous people and other authors, say not to read comments and reviews because people can be really mean. But I’m not sure I’ll be able not to look and see what people think. I want to know what you all think about it. I know it’s not perfect, I say so myself in acknowledgments. It’s the first book I wrote as an adult. It’s also the first book I wrote in English (which isn’t my mother tongue). I’m perfectionist and I always see things I can fix and improve, because of that I want to hear your critics. But critics that are based on the story, those are the ones I’ll read and take to the heart so that I can try to improve and grow as an author.

Crystal’s Book World: Last, did you hide any secrets in your book that only a few people will find?
Anna: If I did, I don’t know about them. Maybe if you find something, you can let me know. 😉 No secrets. Lost & Found is just a book, a story about a girl and a boy falling in love, a story about growing up, a story about finding yourself, who you are and who you want to be, a story about adventure and a story about friendship. All of the things I value a lot in life and hope at least some of the readers will understand and will be able to connect with.

Next is my review! I have to tell you, I was really impressed with Anna’s writing since this is her debut novel!!

Crystal's BookWorld Review_

I really enjoyed reading Lost and Found by Anna B. Doe. The drama was so different than other romance novels that I have come across. The complexity was intense. I was always wondering what Anabel was thinking when she did her best to push William away. 

We can get from the Blurb that Anabel is lost in this world. She is from a different country and travels to the US to regroup if that is what you want to call it. She was stuck at the moment of her life and decided to venture off. Little did she know that she was in for a rocky ride. Her life seems to be turned upside down by a hot professional football player. With that being said, you would think this would be part of the Sports Romance genre. There is definitely romance going on, but in Lost and Found, the sports aspect of the book does not overwhelm it. I actually forgot about the football part until I wrote it in this review. 

William is the most kindness and caring “jock” that you will meet. He can have any woman of his choice, but his heart stayed with Bel from the moment he first saw her. The anxiety I got when he worked like h$ll to catch Bel. She would just slip right pass him. I love his loyalty and his attitude that is down right sexy. 

There are other characters that play a huge part of this story. You can hear them screaming at you that they need to be heard. So I can not wait for the second book in this series to come out. The angst and the hope I have these character was so surreal. Lost and Found is a book that is one-click worthy!

About the Author and Links:

AUTHOR BIO:

Anna B. Doe is an indie author of the contemporary romance novel Lost & Found, book one in the New York Knights series. She is also a college student at the University of Zadar in Croatia where she is studying education science and Spanish. When she isn’t studying (which is most of the time), she’s reading books, watching TV shows, or traveling the world working as an au pair. She is addicted to coffee and a big lover of dogs. Anna writes what she loves to read, which is romance. She is currently working on the second book in the New York Knights series and the first book of her new YA series.

You can find out more about Anna online:

Email: annabdoe@gmail.com
Facebook
Facebook group
Instagram
Goodreads Author Page
Goodreads

Leave a Reply

